Car insurance in California

If you’ve just moved to California, need car insurance coverage, or have been here for a while looking for cheap car insurance that does not cut corners, you’ll be glad to get quotes from GEICO. So how much does car insurance cost for your trip to California? You can get a free car insurance quote online with GEICO to find out. California also has some unique car insurance laws that differentiate vehicle insurance here from other states, so read on to keep up the speed.

Minimum California car insurance coverage

California requires drivers to have at least the following car insurance:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage. Minimum $ 15,000 per person / $ 30,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage. $ 5,000 minimum
  • Coverage of bodily injury of an uninsured driver ¹. Minimum $ 15,000 per person / $ 30,000 per accident
  • Coverage of damage to the property of an uninsured driver. Minimum $ 3,500

Whether these are the minimum coverage that California requires of you, each insurance policy is unique. Visit our Coverage Calculator for a personalized quote.

California Car Insurance Law for Newcomers

If you are moving to the state, the California Driver’s Guide is a good resource. It was published by the Department of Road Transport. It can give you guidance on how to register your car, get a California driver’s license, and other state traffic rules.

What is California’s reduced waiver?

  • If you have a collision cover on your car, you may be eligible for California Reduction Payment. With this waiver, your insurance company will pay for your car crash reduction if an uninsured driver causes an accident.

California Registration Information

Your car may be registered in California from the date of entry. To avoid fines, fees must be paid within 20 days of the car entering California.

You will need:

  • Fill out the application for a title or registration (REG 343)
  • Submit your foreign registration certificate
  • Submit your foreign title (if you have one)
  • Issue a California Smoke Certificate
  • Provide a mileage certificate (if your car is less than 10 years old)
  • Bring your car to the DMV office to check your car identification number. (For your convenience, we recommend making an appointment by calling your local DMV).
  • Pay the fees
  • Commercial vehicles, including pickup trucks, may require a weight certificate

Current law sets a use tax on a car purchased outside of California է Brought to California within 12 months of purchase. The new legislation, which takes effect October 1, 2004, through July 1, 2006, requires a usage tax to be paid for a car purchased outside of California within 365 days of the date of purchase.

What if I receive a letter of intent to suspend my registration in California?

  • If the state of California can not confirm that you have insurance on your car, you can get a letter stating that they plan to cancel your car registration. This can happen if the state does not have the correct VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) in the file, if your California (or out-of-state) insurance coverage has expired, or if there is an error in the information received from the state of California.
  • If you are currently a GEICO policyholder, D California DMV has informed you that it is sufficient to provide proof of insurance, you can easily obtain the documents through our GEICO Mobile application.
  • If you’re not a GEICO insurer և Want to know how much California car insurance will cost, you can get a quote today.

Car Insurance Discounts in California

CA Good driver discount

The couple is driving in CaliforniaGood drivers deserve a break, and in California those who meet certain criteria can get at least a 20% discount on their car insurance. Who is a good driver in California?

  1. Has experience of a verifiable license for at least the previous three years. or:
  2. Licensed in the United States or Canada for the last 18 months, the experience of which must be verified և Evidence of previous 18 months’ license experience in any jurisdiction outside the United States or Canada; և:
  3. Has not recruited more than one unit from the Department of Transportation in the last three years. A unit is usually assigned for a vehicle code breach or ‘mostly culprit’ accident ‘; և If the driver was involved in a “major fault” accident, it must not result in injury or death. և:
  4. Has not been convicted of a driving offense (drug or alcohol-related) driving offense or specific crime in the last ten years4:.

If you have any questions, talk to one of GEICO’s auto insurance agents.

Good student discount in California

California teen or young adult drivers may qualify for a Good Student Discount if they meet all of the following criteria:

  • Have eight years or less of driving experience
  • They are enrolled in a full-time academic home curriculum, high school, college, or university.
  • Have at least B average or its equivalent.

Get quotes today to see how much you can save on a good student discount.

California Teen Driving License

California teen driverIf you are the parent of a teenager approaching driving age, you և your teenager should know that:

  • Before becoming fully licensed, California teen drivers must take a driving license to obtain a temporary license, which requires them to be at least 15.5 years old.
  • Drivers in California must be 16 years old and have a temporary license for at least six months before applying for a license.
  • Applicants must then pass a DMV-driven driving test before obtaining a temporary driver’s license.
  • During the first 12 months of a temporary license, they can drive from 5:01 a.m. to 10:59 p.m., transporting only passengers over the age of 21. Upon expiration of that temporary period, they will be granted full driving licenses.

Contact your local California DMV for more information on California Teen Driver Rules and Rules.

California Driving Resources

California Insurance Agents

Contact us as you wish. From experienced local insurance agents to our award-winning app, we are here to help. Learn more about GEICO Insurance Agents in California.

You can also check out how we facilitate insurance in the app with 1-click bill payment, digital ID cards, access to roadside assistance, and more. Download GEICO Mobile today. We facilitate insurance.

  1. Coverage of uninsured drivers can be canceled.
  2. As defined by CIC § 1861.025
  3. As defined in Title 10 § 2632.13 of the California Code of Regulations
  4. California Car Code, according to CIC § 1861.025